Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - DoorsMonster

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
News / Re: Patch 0.16.5 Combat Update - Patchnotes
« on: March 27, 2018, 06:27:26 AM »
Also, any weapon with % chance to bypass shields, currently does not bypass shields at all no matter how many shots you take.  Tested and confirmed with 12 seeker launchers with 20% chance, and can sustain fire for 38 shots.  Not a single one bypasses shields.

Dude, there's another annoying thing: repair turrets CAN'T bypass shields! LOOOL So repair turrets are totally USELESS

2
Bugs / Re: Repair Turrets causing faction hate?
« on: March 20, 2018, 03:16:24 AM »
I'm testing the beta branch and now repairing ships with repair fighters is no longer possible... WTF

3
Bugs / Re: [MP] Turret groupings changing
« on: February 26, 2018, 02:48:42 AM »
I'm playing in a single player galaxy,  on 16.1 and I'm having the same issue after switching between sectors. Also all my fighters dissapeared and all my torpeados have gone. XD
OUCH. Is anybody else losing fighters/torpeados?

4
Bugs / Re: FREE CREDITS Trading posts generating free money
« on: February 02, 2018, 12:51:22 AM »
What version are we now? 15.9? Because on 15.8 that was not fixed yet... I'm at the work right now, I'll check it asap. In my post I forgot to add something crucial for the exploit to work, as I clarified on the 15.8 post: the trading post must be owned by the alliance and you need to use a player craft to trade with the said post.
But, yeah, that'd be a super nice news if that exploit has been fixed already (15.8 still had that issue, I checked it)

Thank you for the info. We'll be looking into it.

This is fixed now. The new update makes tradepost only gets a few items instead of an entire batch.

Before update - you get 2300 Targeting system in one go - hundred millions profits.
After update - you get about 40ish Targeting system in one delivery - just a few hundred thousands profit.

Tradepost has been heavily nerfed, please Dev consider not overnerfing it into obsolete like smuggler's den/Resource depot.

Oh, I just re-read your reply. I fear that exploit is not related to the amount of cargo dealt by the npcs, but the 2-way income problem present by using an alliance station, so it is still present. As I said before, I explained it better on the last lines of the 3 page of this post:

http://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,4457.30.html


5
Suggestions / Finding (and combat) other players easier
« on: January 31, 2018, 11:08:06 PM »
Hi all,

I can see a lot of suggestions about badass weapons, a dramatic game story, lights and everything, but IMO Avorion had 3 basic things to improve to fully use all it's potential, 2 of them seems to be fixed, 1 is pending:

  • Reduced number of players online per server. This seems to be fixed since the 0.13 multithreading update.
    We saw a no more than 8 players online because of the lag, now we can see about 35 and servers keep running fine.
  • Economy freezed. This was fixed with 0.13 update and the recent economy update + 15.8 patch. Before stations were useless, now we can have up to 5 sectors loaded per player.
  • Players never pvp because they almost never meet eachother. Somebody destroyed your ship while you were offline, wow, impressive, does it sounds familiar to you?

My suggestion is changing the behaviour of something already present on the game: scanners. Use scanners to find players on the map.

Ppl on the forum has really cool ideas about huge battles, weapons, bases, ships, fighters... I would never be able to imagine them, but all of that become pointless because you can't use those cool ideas to fight other players.

If you find another player in the galaxy you are lucky. Why would you kill him?

The most common reason of pvp death is some coward killed you when offline. And you can't take revenge because galaxy has 1 million sectors, are you going to visit each sector to find the aggressor?

If you had some tool (scanners would be nice, currently they are almost useless) to find players on the map (maybe as purple blips, or navy blue, pink, turquoise.. any color), then the game would be more exciting. That doesn't need to be broken, they could have a decent range to let you chase somebody, or prevent you from an ambush.

Also we need a way to prevent players from jumping out the sector: Okay, so you finally found a player you want to kill, you have 20m shields, 10m hp, like 500k damage, you deploy all your fighters, turbo on engines... oh, wait... your enemy already left the sector! Game already has hyperspace block features, that just need to be attainable by players. Maybe you could active hyperspace blocker and it would block both parts, attacker and defender which would force you to assume the consequences of the battle.

Yeah, I'm waiting for that 0.16 "Combat update", too. I want to use those torpeadoes and kill those nasty fighters with my point defence, but we have no worthy rival (and fighting pirates and aliens becomes boring after some time no matter if we will have specialist or not) and a way to find oponents and keep them battling you is not listed on the goals of the combat update.

6
Bugs / Re: resourcetrader.lua Is Using Table.Insert Wrong
« on: January 31, 2018, 09:50:17 PM »
Some ppl in the server I'm playing in reported issues with Resource depots. They said they were unable to sell iron to those depots despite they had enough iron, they had enough reputation and they were close enough.
I have seen about 5 players with that problem, is your post related to that?

7
Bugs / Re: Repair Turrets causing faction hate?
« on: January 31, 2018, 09:43:20 PM »
So what's the deal with Repair Turrets?

I tried to help repair a friendly ship between waves of Xsotan/Pirates and it only made my reputation worse.

Is this intentional? It sure doesn't seem to make sense.

I can confirm this issue. I also reported it since August 09 on my post:

https://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,3764.msg20417.html#msg20417

Yeah, pretty annoying. I was in the middle of a Faction War and I decided to heal one of the sides... My allies ended up hating me.  Just one repair shot, lost friends forever.
Also if you try to use a player ship to heal an alliance ship (and viceversa) that doesn't work either.

I found a way to work around it. Mount those repair turrets on fighters. Then just order those fighters to attack (heal) something and that will work as inteded.
If you thought about having a dedicated healing ship, you can forget about it.

8
News / Re: Beta Branch Patch 0.15.8 Patchnotes
« on: January 31, 2018, 06:51:18 AM »
That's hilarious.

I think the problem stems from the fact that an Alliance is technically another Faction, so you can interact with it and sell things to it as if it were just an NPC, but because you are that Faction, you get money two ways. That's bad, and you explained perfectly well why!

Ty! I didn't manage to drag attention from the devs to this issue. That made me think I was not explaining it correctly. OK, as you can see, this is terrible. Now I'm seeing another player buying "any amount of avorion". I feel tempted to RUIN the economy of those cheaters by giving a BILLION TO EVERYONE. That must push up the prices of everything right?

9
News / Re: Beta Branch Patch 0.15.8 Patchnotes
« on: January 30, 2018, 09:26:29 PM »
yes, it worked so well.

however the trading post exploit still exist  :-\

hoping they fix issue trading post exploit as fast as possible.

note : for people who doesnt know what trading post exploit :

1. trading post will buy NPC cargo haul and you will get profit by tax (20 % of goods).
2. however you CAN take said item yourself. by going near trading post. and transfer cargo between ship and station.
3. then took all of it, all of the goods. sell it to nearby allied faction.

btw is there a limit for sector simulation ?

i hope they are limited to our sector instead. but unlimited sector simulation.

Hi all,

I'm also concerned about this exploit. I already reported it since January 02. I'm not sure if you are aware of how severe is this thing, I tried to explain it on my post:

https://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,4343.msg22958.html#msg22958

But my english skills are not the best. I'll try to clarify it here too:

Let's say your ALLIANCE (<- that is important for the exploit to work) owns a trading post, then an NPC freighter comes in and sells your post 900 computer mainframes. Your alliance (you) earns credits because of the tax. Then you use any player ship to FREELY TAKE those 900 mainframes and immediately you sell them to the same trading post (you can sell them because you are using a player ship to sell to an alliance station which is allowed and profitable). This way you earn credits for the tax again (alliance side) BUT as a player you earn credits for the sale!!! You TAKE AGAIN THOSE MAINFRAMES and repeat the process again and again and each time you'll earn +50 millions for the trade.
IMO this is game breaking because you need only 25 millions to found a trading post and then you just need to  use this exploit to go from 25millions to 3 BILLIONS on less than 5 minutes!

Please, excuse my grammar, and feel free to ask me any question if I were not enough clear.

BTW I already have seen some players using this exploit to buy resources and offering 250 credits per iron unit. That's ridiculous. They can repeat the process any time they want to make a fortune.

10
Bugs / Re: AI trade haulers are utterly broken
« on: January 12, 2018, 06:49:59 AM »
I had to put no more than 2 stations  per sector.
Exactly as you say, if you put too many stations in a single sector it would become too hard to jump Just in time.
 Yep, not a fully satisfying solution, I fear. But I hope it helps you keep running stations.

11
Bugs / Re: AI trade haulers are utterly broken
« on: January 11, 2018, 08:05:36 PM »
Hello,

Ugh, this bug is really annoying. I'm having the same issue. I want to drag attention from devs since I think this is a big problem, so I'll post a couple links.

When I first encountered it I wrongly named my post, yet I found the source of the problem here:
http://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,4318.msg22832.html#msg22832

Also there's another guy having the same problem, here:
http://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,4212.msg22853.html#msg22853

I think I found a 'solution' which is more a way to 'avoid' the problem. This issue occurs because the DockAI.lua script has a bug on the 71th line. Those lines says that:

  • Trading ship spawns
  • Said ship flys to station
  • IF YOU LEAVE THE SECTOR IN THIS STEP THE BUG IS TRIGGERED
  • Ship get stuck because 71th line can't be executed (ship's can't check docking when player is out of the sector)

The trick to avoid the problem is:

  • Unstuck the ship by any means OP just said before (I suggest just deleting ALL docks from the station, that works, me and 2 friends tested it)
  • Let the trade finish and wait for the yellow undocking tractor beam to finish the movement
  • LEAVE THE SECTOR RIGHT AFTER THE YELLOW BEAM PUSHED THE SHIP OFF THE STATION (Time this carefully, otherwise it won't work)
  • Once you are out of the sector the station will notify you about the profits

This works because, according to trade.lua script, server has 2 ways of trading: actually spawning a trading ship and simulating trading. Simulation is only triggered if there's no pending trades for a given station. This happens for each station, so it's okay if there's traders stuck near NPC's stations. Only focus on your factory. In the server I am currently playing on, I have 7 stations running just fine.

If you reenter the sector, you'll have to repeat the steps.

12
Bugs / FREE CREDITS Trading posts generating free money
« on: January 02, 2018, 09:42:45 AM »
Devs, trading posts are seriously broken.

  • Trading post buys stuff without cost to me.
  • Once TP has the good inside its cargo bays, pick up the goods
  • Sell the stuff to the same TP
  • Repeat until you have 2.7 billion credits like me and get deeply dissapointed


You are selling its own stuff to the station!
Whos paying that?

Please please, fix this thing fast.

13
Bugs / Re: Traders spawning and not moving (update, I think I found source)
« on: December 28, 2017, 11:09:35 AM »
Also looks like factories for manufacturing are not.making anything even when they have all needed supplies. Ha e you seen this?

I have seen this issue, WSY, and after almost a whole day trying to understand it, I think I know what's happening. Station production dynamics had a drastic change and it should be better documented. Stations now need assembly blocks to decrease production time.
E.g.: let's suppose you want to build an advanced tech factory, an Accelerator Factory and you forgot to add assembly blocks. To calculate the production time game uses the following formula to calc the required 'effort' (aka value):

effort = goods price * number of goods produced per cycle * tech level of the good

in the case of the accelerator factory it would be:

3'010,344 = 125,431 * 3 * 8

Then you divide it between your assembly capacity, let's say you have 0 assembly blocks. By default if you have 0 assembly blocks, the factory gives you the minimum of 100/s assembly production capacity, so:

3'010,344 / 100 = 30,103    <- This is the time that you have to wait for your factory to finish JUST 1 CYCLE

In other words: YOU ARE WAITING FOREVER FOR YOUR FACTORY TO FINISH.
Add more assembly blocks. Stations were reworked so crew cost is much lower now, so you could add a ton of assembly blocks to speed up the process.
Let's say you added a crap ton assembly blocks, so now you have an "assembly production capacity" of 20,000/s:

3'010,344 / 20,000 = 150 <- this is the time that you have to wait now. Just 150 (seconds or time intervals, I don't know).

BTW, I posted a bug that is annoying me and I think my bug is related to the OP's bug in some way. This is my post:

http://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php?topic=4318.msg22832#msg22832

I feel that, in the case of the OP, the trading ship is getting stuck the same way as my problem, but it doesn't reacts at all.

14
Bugs / Traders not spawning when out of sector
« on: December 27, 2017, 09:05:08 AM »
HI!

I have a noble mine that belongs to an alliance I created. This mine produces gold/platinum when I am in or out the sector without problems. But the issue is that, even when the mine has full stock, I'm under 5 sectors loaded at the same time, and my mine is configured to sell stuff to npcs and also request buyers, traders do not spawn if I am out of the sector.
I checked the traders.lua script, and the idea seems to be to not spawn a trading ship anymore, but doing the transaction directly, and that is not happening.
Please, correct me if I am wrong, but trading out of the sector should work since 0.12, right?

UPDATE:

Problem: Trading ships are not trading with stations while player is out of a sector, probably because AI gets stuck in a step of the process.

Steps to reproduce:

  • Build any station, producer+consumer stations prefered (e.g. solar panel factory)
  • Make sure you meet the production requeriments (i.e. add enough assembly blocks *v0.15 learned the hard way*)
  • Add enough crew
  • Wait for a trader to spawn to trade with your station (buyer/seller fails with both)
  • Leave the sector thinking that everything will run fine
  • Wait FOREVER (<- this is the BUG) for the trading ship paying you for the goods it is supposedly buying
  • Jump back to the sector to see what's wrong
  • Boom, transaction done!
  • Repeat

Current galaxy/station set up:

  • New galaxy v0.15.*
  • Random/Not random spawn sector
  • I built an accelerator factory on creative mode to test
  • I added a huge amount of assembly blocks just to be sure

I narrowed the problem:

I already checked the scripts involved in the trading process for both cases in-sector and out-of-sector and I think I found the script that's causing this issue:

entity/ai/dock.lua

Code: [Select]
69     if DockAI.dockStage == 2 then
70         -- once the ship is at the dock, wait
71>>    if station:isDocked(ship) then
72             ai:setPassive()
73             return true
74         end

The problem is in the 71 line of code, the function station:isDocked(ship) seems to require that the player is present in the sector to run. That's the point where the AI get's stuck until I jump back to the sector to witness the trade (and in the exact moment I'm in the sector, the moneyTransfer is done). For some reason the server can't check if a ship is docked with a station if I'm out the sector.

What I think it's happening:

NPC trader spawns to trade with my station, choose a free dock, and fly towards to it. I jump out of the sector in that moment. Once the NPC ship reaches the light path, it becomes passive and waits for the tractor beam to pull it. But then, the ship should wait until it gets pulled enough, and it tries to check if it isDocked(ship) but this function never returns. This situation causes that the server can't spawn any other traders because the station is occupied (including the immediate traders that, in theory, should address this issue when out-of-sector) and the ECONOMY FREEZES.

Sorry for extending this much, but this is a really annoying bug which I specially hate because I wish I could make a big empire that could pay my crew and ships and everything, instead I just can't leave my station alone or it becomes useless.


15
General Discussion / why are all servers outdated?
« on: September 20, 2017, 08:05:40 PM »
Some time ago I could login in, at least, 30 different servers that matched my client version. Now I can only find a single server and it shows me a ping of 200ms. I know that it could be related to me using the latest beta patch, but... this is weird. I have always used the latest patch.
Are all server admins not willing to update their servers?

Pages: [1] 2 3