Author Topic: [Mod] Detailed Turret Tooltips  (Read 73049 times)

Devious

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    579
  • Have you seen Rusty?
    • View Profile
    • Rusty's Universe and Community
on: July 10, 2017, 09:34:40 PM
Quote
Tooltip crashes are game bugs. If this mod is bugged, it'll cause a blank tooltip, it won't cause a crash. Nevertheless, I put another update which includes that unused line. But as I've said, crashes are game bugs, a faulty mod will be set to invalid and simply stop functioning. Seeing that the patch notes for 0.12.3 (for example) states that a crash related to tooltips has been fixed, there still may be a few more.

Ah didn't think of comparing the vanilla files, thanks for your work tho! :)



Pyrax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    50
    • View Profile
on: July 25, 2017, 05:33:21 AM
Has anyone used this mod since the Alliance Update? Mine hasn't worked since the game update pushed last week...



nDervish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    22
    • View Profile
on: July 25, 2017, 11:48:55 AM
Has anyone used this mod since the Alliance Update? Mine hasn't worked since the game update pushed last week...

I haven't played much since then, but I'm pretty sure it was still working for me.  Did you reinstall the mod after updating?  At this point, Avorion mods work by overwriting the vanilla files, so it's common for the files to revert to vanilla during updates.



Fox

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    197
  • "You're a good friend, Arthur!"
    • View Profile
    • FoxDie Inc.
on: July 28, 2017, 05:03:13 PM
Has anyone used this mod since the Alliance Update? Mine hasn't worked since the game update pushed last week...
Same here after fresh install on the new update, seems alot of mods got affected lately... The Gate Icons still working great btw!  8)
« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 05:08:56 PM by Fox »
- Luck is no matter of coincidence or probability, but of attitude and perspective ! -



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: August 01, 2017, 11:54:22 PM
Has anyone used this mod since the Alliance Update? Mine hasn't worked since the game update pushed last week...
Same here after fresh install on the new update, seems alot of mods got affected lately... The Gate Icons still working great btw!  8)

I'm not really sure what's causing that as it is working fine on my end. If you are seeing blank tooltips, then something is breaking the mod which I'll need to fix.

If you can check the log files and see anything related to tooltipmaker.lua is giving an error, that'd help me. Logs are located here:
Code: [Select]
%appdata%\avorion Put this on your search bar in the start menu (or folder path on windows explorer) and hit enter.
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates



Fox

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    197
  • "You're a good friend, Arthur!"
    • View Profile
    • FoxDie Inc.
on: August 02, 2017, 01:07:09 AM
not blank, but rather the basic vanilla tooltips... and sorry i cant find anything related in my latest logs, actually there isnt a single line containing ".lua", neither in the latest client-log nor in server-log, even tho me uses multiple mods!?

I backed up the original file as "tooltipmaker bckp.lua" and left it in the same folder, but i dont think that can be an issue, no? I mean like, it wasnt before...
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 01:11:21 AM by Fox »
- Luck is no matter of coincidence or probability, but of attitude and perspective ! -



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: August 02, 2017, 05:12:41 AM
not blank, but rather the basic vanilla tooltips... and sorry i cant find anything related in my latest logs, actually there isnt a single line containing ".lua", neither in the latest client-log nor in server-log, even tho me uses multiple mods!?

I backed up the original file as "tooltipmaker bckp.lua" and left it in the same folder, but i dont think that can be an issue, no? I mean like, it wasnt before...

If you are seeing the vanilla tooltip then the mod isn't installed :P Maybe there is a different folder to install mods now that I'm not aware of yet, but on single player all is working fine for me as I've mentioned. Put the backup file to somewhere else just in case, maybe that'll fix it somehow?!? I have no clue on this issue, as this would've affected all mods not just this one...
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates



Fox

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    197
  • "You're a good friend, Arthur!"
    • View Profile
    • FoxDie Inc.
on: August 02, 2017, 07:25:52 AM
- i freshly installed all used mods after the alliance update went live, including:
Avorion Command Package (working)
Clear Shields (working)
Compass-like Gate Icons (working)
Detailed Turret Tooltips (not working, as stated)
findstation (not working)
Fleetcontrol (not working)
showdist (working)

- the file in question is twice the size of the vanilla one and full of "lyr" comments (like you stated in the other topic), so im pretty sure i installed it correctly (it worked in the past, so pretty pretty sure), folder in question is within "steamapps\common\Avorion\data\scripts\lib\", as per instructions...

- when installing the mod "collection" i followed the same procedures as before the alliances update, so i would exclude a different folder for mods in general (cant say from a coding point of view tho, just what i would expect)

-removing the backup file from the folder had nno effect as expected

Any way to provide more info for you to track down the issue? is there a way ingame to see which scripts are used at a given point (since the client-/serverlogs were inconclusive)?
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 07:29:45 AM by Fox »
- Luck is no matter of coincidence or probability, but of attitude and perspective ! -



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: August 02, 2017, 05:47:10 PM
Any way to provide more info for you to track down the issue? is there a way ingame to see which scripts are used at a given point (since the client-/serverlogs were inconclusive)?

I still have no clue... Are you playing on a server, or playing solo? I'm not sure how this game handles mods on servers; what happens when there is a file mismatch and so on so to speak. I play local/solo, maybe this happens when playing on a server. Other than that, I really have no clue, I mean it's practically impossible for you to see the vanilla tooltip when you have a modified tooltip mod. Curious... I'll try to look around, mind you share your save file meanwhile?

edit: I noticed how big the save files can get, so how about you start a new different game, check if the mod is working, and if it is not working, share that? Don't know what I can do with that, but as I've said, I am literally clueless as to why this is happening :(
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates



Pyrax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    50
    • View Profile
on: August 03, 2017, 05:37:07 AM
My issue was fixed per the recommendation of re-replacing the appropriate tooltip.lua after the update. The update obviously reverted that file to the vanilla so dropping in the modded one again got it working.



Fox

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    197
  • "You're a good friend, Arthur!"
    • View Profile
    • FoxDie Inc.
on: August 03, 2017, 07:10:01 AM
My issue was fixed per the recommendation of re-replacing the appropriate tooltip.lua after the update. The update obviously reverted that file to the vanilla so dropping in the modded one again got it working.
- i freshly installed all used mods after the alliance update went live, including:
Spoiler: show


Any way to provide more info for you to track down the issue? is there a way ingame to see which scripts are used at a given point (since the client-/serverlogs were inconclusive)?

I still have no clue... Are you playing on a server, or playing solo? I'm not sure how this game handles mods on servers; what happens when there is a file mismatch and so on so to speak. I play local/solo, maybe this happens when playing on a server. Other than that, I really have no clue, I mean it's practically impossible for you to see the vanilla tooltip when you have a modified tooltip mod. Curious... I'll try to look around, mind you share your save file meanwhile?

edit: I noticed how big the save files can get, so how about you start a new different game, check if the mod is working, and if it is not working, share that? Don't know what I can do with that, but as I've said, I am literally clueless as to why this is happening :(
All feedback were provided from solo singleplayer gameplay... also tried to remove the backup file from the folder, restarted game and still same result... (it shows on the screenshot above because i put it back there AFTER testing)

When i read the disclaimer window about compatibily problems with old saves and about changes to the shipfiles i thought "F*k it, my ships are saved and progress isnt much, lets start all new", and made a new creative galaxy in which i tested so far, so i guess there isnt much to help in my save-file... nevertheless, here you go:
Click me hard!
(it refused to let me upload the empty files blacklist.txt, group-whitelist.txt, ipblacklist.txt and whitelist.txt, hopefully that doesnt disturb functionality of the savegame)


EDIT: OMG, now i feel so stupid... using version 0.12.+ instead of my old one helped alot... who had guessed... ... ty nevertheless for the effort and sorry for wasting your time :/
« Last Edit: August 03, 2017, 07:20:27 AM by Fox »
- Luck is no matter of coincidence or probability, but of attitude and perspective ! -



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: August 03, 2017, 04:21:12 PM
EDIT: OMG, now i feel so stupid... using version 0.12.+ instead of my old one helped alot... who had guessed... ... ty nevertheless for the effort and sorry for wasting your time :/

That's... still interesting, because I cannot explain why you would see the vanilla tooltips. And the difference between that version and the previous one is one added line, which does nothing so far from what I can tell. I just added that line and a failsafe for a very rare problem, meanwhile working on some other little things and re-evaluating my calculations.

Nevertheless, I'm glad its working again :)
« Last Edit: August 03, 2017, 04:24:03 PM by lyravega »
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates



Fenrir

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    68
    • View Profile
on: October 06, 2017, 10:39:18 PM
update please?  :'(
The fighter ui has problems since the 0.14 update (example: missing building cost)
I stopped modding until Avorion stops destroying any mod with every update...

My Bigger Is Better Mod Collection:
https://www.avorion.net/forum/index.php/topic,3942.0.html



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: November 08, 2017, 01:42:31 AM
update please?  :'(
The fighter ui has problems since the 0.14 update (example: missing building cost)

Sorry for late update. Like 1 month late.
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates



lyravega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    85
    • View Profile
    • Steam
on: November 10, 2017, 10:43:38 PM
Apparently I pushed an update at the same day? Kinda glad that I added something to prevent the mod from trying to calculate the DPS of an nonexistent weapon. I have a fix for cargo and crew shuttles, after I'm sure it is working properly I'll post it.

edit: Put the update up, download 0.024 if you are on beta. Fixed the crew/cargo shuttles.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 11:50:43 AM by lyravega »
Detailed Turret Tooltips - mod for all your turret info needs
Compass-like Gate Pixel Icons - unnecessary quality of life improvement

Poke me on Steam for updates