Author Topic: [MOD] All Production Chains  (Read 19384 times)

Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    586
    • View Profile
on: October 11, 2017, 01:20:12 AM
Well I guess that depends a little on how you plan to update your server. If you want to keep it up-to-date always, then I advise you to keep a copy of your most recent version of the Steam\...\Avorion\data folder and always make a copy before you apply a new patch, then diffcheck the newly patched files against your older copy, and see if any files were affected that are being altered / interacted with by your mods.

If so, you can read in the diffcheck what exactly changed, and try to make an informed decision on whether or not the update would break the mods, and if you don't trust it, just hold back on the update (i.e. "patch" your game back down using the older copy you preserved) and ask around on these fora whether the mod authors think the update will have a negative impact on the way the mod functions.

I know that all sounds rather obtuse and like a lot of work to have to do each time there's an update, and you're right. It's why I'm currently feverishly trying to create a mod manager to remedy that and do all of that for you, and why we'll be super happy once modding gets integrated into the Steam Workshop like the devs say they plan on doing at some point, and the installation of mods becomes a much more streamlined process.
Shrooblord



Laserzwei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    398
    • View Profile
on: October 11, 2017, 08:31:55 AM
Forgive me the noobish questions, this is the first mod I'm thinking of applying to the server I run.

Is that productionindex file one that gets updated much?  Would it only get updated when stations are added to the game? 

I'm technically adept, but never really done this sort of thing precisely.  The last thing I want to do is skrag the server, or be stuck waiting for a mod to be updated before I can run a new patch.
Since I released this mod, the file was never changed. This is highly unlikely to change and even if it did, you should still be able to use the modded file.
My Mod Collection
My Discord     screw google captcha
My Github
Questions?
> PM me here on the forums!



Hammelpilaw

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    557
    • View Profile
    • Scrap Yard - Avofactory
on: October 16, 2017, 06:10:43 PM
Since I released this mod, the file was never changed. This is highly unlikely to change and even if it did, you should still be able to use the modded file.

*smartassmode on* Cink > Zinc *smartassmode off*  :P

But its true, this file usely never changes.
Scrap Yard Galaxy
My mods and tools
My Workshop

If you find a bug in my mods please contact me.



Laserzwei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    398
    • View Profile
on: October 16, 2017, 07:04:30 PM
Since I released this mod, the file was never changed. This is highly unlikely to change and even if it did, you should still be able to use the modded file.

*smartassmode on* Cink > Zinc *smartassmode off*  :P

But its true, this file usely never changes.
darn forgot about it :D
My Mod Collection
My Discord     screw google captcha
My Github
Questions?
> PM me here on the forums!



Laserzwei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    398
    • View Profile
on: November 14, 2017, 11:14:58 PM
updated to 1.1
- 1.1
  0.15 economy update compatibility
follow the new install instructions
My Mod Collection
My Discord     screw google captcha
My Github
Questions?
> PM me here on the forums!



Nachtu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    53
    • View Profile
on: December 18, 2017, 03:33:34 PM
Can't seem to find a production source for Gems in the game.

Jewelry production chain seems a relatively sweet mid tier chain, and it needs Gems/Diamonds. This mod covers Diamons, and that's great!

Can you maybe add Gems too?  ::)

Edit: actually the whole chain might need some additional work, since there's no place for Jewelry to be sold except random Trading Posts. This is a problem with some other production chains as well I believe.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 07:05:21 PM by Nachtu »



Laserzwei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    398
    • View Profile
on: December 04, 2018, 03:53:26 PM
updated
-- 1.3 for 0.20.x [2018-12-04]
  - anti-grav -> antigrav
  - removed 2 double Noble metal mines (vanilla)
My Mod Collection
My Discord     screw google captcha
My Github
Questions?
> PM me here on the forums!



Serge-KV87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    1
    • View Profile
on: February 23, 2019, 02:50:55 PM
Not working for me. In any of the modes....



Laserzwei

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    398
    • View Profile
on: February 26, 2019, 07:27:53 PM
updated for 0.21 beta
-- 1.4 for beta 0.21 [2019-02-26]
  - renamed modfile to productionChains
  - added names for special factories (vanilla)
My Mod Collection
My Discord     screw google captcha
My Github
Questions?
> PM me here on the forums!