Author Topic: [MOD PACK] Galaxy Mods: Balance & Difficulty Mods  (Read 25398 times)

Wayleran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    83
    • View Profile
on: January 27, 2018, 09:44:43 PM
That is excellent news! Thanks for all the updates!

You're welcome. Hope you enjoy it.

The changes to the size and strength of some encounters along with the increase to the hull sizes of some enemies should make a nice difference. I went a bit too hard on nerfing them after the last couple versions. But I think this may be better.

And the economy mod, like it states, is TOTALLY new so I'd recommend trying that out and tell me what you think.

Keep in mind that ONLY trading ships are impacted by this but they are pretty consistent now in terms of the amount you'll get from destroying them. If you decide to take the time to destroy an entire station you'll potentially get a lot of goods, but I don't think it's worth the time to do that and also I like to restrict my raiding to ONLY the trading ships and killing defenders. I'm not sure if you destroy a station/factory if it'll ever be rebuilt (I don't think so) so essentially you're slaughtering a "cash cow" of a trading route. LOL



Wayleran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    83
    • View Profile
on: January 27, 2018, 10:31:57 PM
Removed by Wayleran
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 10:35:15 PM by Wayleran »



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: January 28, 2018, 12:01:27 AM
I'm not sure if you destroy a station/factory if it'll ever be rebuilt (I don't think so) so essentially you're slaughtering a "cash cow" of a trading route. LOL
Indeed it is so: destroyed Stations will never regenerate with the current build of the game. Sad!

That's why I've only ever raided Pirate Stations and a Sector who was already pissed off at me for no reason at all way out in the Outer Rim. :P
Shrooblord



Wayleran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    83
    • View Profile
on: January 28, 2018, 07:53:23 AM
I'm not sure if you destroy a station/factory if it'll ever be rebuilt (I don't think so) so essentially you're slaughtering a "cash cow" of a trading route. LOL
Indeed it is so: destroyed Stations will never regenerate with the current build of the game. Sad!

That's why I've only ever raided Pirate Stations and a Sector who was already pissed off at me for no reason at all way out in the Outer Rim. :P

Just do what I do and attack the cargo haulers. They're a constant source of credits and easier to kill than holding down the left mouse button for 20 mins while you whittle down an entire station. LOL

Plus, my Economy Mod is designed with only killing cargo ships in mind. It's one of the only self-imposed restrictions I put upon myself. And I ONLY attack pirate factions OR factions that are hostile towards me upon first encountering them. I mean if they hate me right from the get-go, than F 'em I say.  ;)



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: January 28, 2018, 08:23:19 AM
Wayleran, I've been playing with a friend on a server and I've noticed the Deposits system is a bit broken. On a delivery for $20k of goods, you'll need more than $20k deposit for some reason. How was this meant to work? Also it doesn't say anywhere what the deposit amount you need actually is, so you can't know how much money you need to make the deposit, which is silly.

Is this something your mod has altered? Or is this the new beta functionality?
Shrooblord



Ravien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    257
    • View Profile
on: January 28, 2018, 09:14:40 AM
Wayleran, I've been playing with a friend on a server and I've noticed the Deposits system is a bit broken. On a delivery for $20k of goods, you'll need more than $20k deposit for some reason. How was this meant to work? Also it doesn't say anywhere what the deposit amount you need actually is, so you can't know how much money you need to make the deposit, which is silly.

Is this something your mod has altered? Or is this the new beta functionality?

I can't speak for how it worked in the past in Avorion, but a deposit is typically supposed to be worth equal to or more than the goods you are transporting. It's meant as an insurance policy that helps protect the customer from having their cargo stolen by the person doing the transport and that only works if the deposit is at least equal to the value of the cargo being transported.

Source: my time playing EVE Online. Both games have an economy (EVE's run by players, Avorion's simulated). in EVE, if you want to do cargo hauling, you typically need to pay a deposit worth more than whatever you're hauling so the client is covered in case you steal their cargo. So it would make sense from a lore and maybe game balance perspective.

Not saying that it's intended though.



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: January 28, 2018, 05:33:13 PM
I guess it makes sense now I stop to think about it. It was just surprising to see I needed more than the amount of money I was aiming to gain from completing the mission to even take it first. This is coming from a new playthrough in a fresh galaxy where I have no assets at all to play around with, so getting the start-up is hard when even missions that earn you some decent cash can't be accessed because of a hard "you need at least $80k to take this" paywall. The rich get richer I guess!
Shrooblord



Ravien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    257
    • View Profile
on: January 29, 2018, 01:02:13 AM
Things definitely feel better with the extra ships in pirate and alien attacks.



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: January 30, 2018, 02:04:41 PM
I've been thinking about this mod. A friend of mine and myself have recently started a server, which means we begun from scratch. We've been having an extremely hard time getting to the first "leg-up" you need, that first capital investment to get rolling. This is because the enemies around us are always stronger, we're always considered "very weak for this Sector" and we get ambushed so often (I notice events at least every 5 minutes), it's hard to stick around and mine in peace, most of the time. I got a lucky break and found a wreckage worth 300,000 Trinium and 3 million Credits once I'd sold it all in Build Mode, so we got there in the end, but this was after maybe 15 hours of server playtime. In all this time, we have destroyed 3 ships, and never gotten into a serious fight. I haven't not heard combat music that long since... well, ever.

Although I like the idea of a dangerous universe that you need to make a name for yourself in, the sheer amount of ass-kicking these enemies are giving us is a bit... intense.

Maybe we could tweak the balancing of this to help facilitate an easier and speedier early game? Since I believe the purview of this mod is to help tone done the crazy mid- and late game balancing, it feels a bit unfair to also punish the already weak early game.

Is there something you could do to make the difficulty curve feel more exponential, or maybe follow a sigmoid in nature? I feel like ramping up quickly at the start is more fun than slowly grinding your way towards a bit of a foothold.
If you're familiar with how the levelling curves of player characters in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition work, I'd say that's a great inspiration. Quickly power through the first few levels, have a stable and linear mid game, and quickly accelerate to the last level again at the end. Like I said: sigmoid curve.
Shrooblord



Ravien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    257
    • View Profile
on: January 30, 2018, 08:18:48 PM
I agree. If there's a way to make the early game enemies easier while keeping the mid and especially end game enemies hard, that would be perfect. Enemies near the core should be very very difficult but combat should still be a viable option in the early game.



Wayleran

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    83
    • View Profile
on: February 02, 2018, 04:10:59 AM
I agree. If there's a way to make the early game enemies easier while keeping the mid and especially end game enemies hard, that would be perfect. Enemies near the core should be very very difficult but combat should still be a viable option in the early game.

I've tried to do this as best I can in the past but the problem is the vanilla values don't scale up very well. For instance the ship's hulls and dps don't gradually scale on vanilla like you'd expect. They go up drastically around the "naonite" stages but plateau all throughout the "trinium/xanion" stages and don't go up noticeably until you're well into the core, ie. 100-50 distance from center.

But something I realized is that we should just start the game (whether on vanilla or with my mods) on Normal or Veteran then MANUALLY increase the difficulty around midway in the server.ini and then once again MANUALLY increase the difficulty when you reach the core. This way you get noticeable changes both through my mods and the game's difficulty settings.

As it is the game just isn't balanced well at all. Whether it's because it's just too easy, enemies are too squishy, we do too much dps, bosses are ridiculously too easy, system upgrades (in vanilla) are totally out-of-whack...etc.

So I'd use my mods and stuff but also do that other manual adjustment. Maybe when you first get at least SOME shields go from normal to vet, than when you first get some trinium go from vet to difficult, than finally when you first cross the barrier increase it once more to hard or even insane.

Oh and P.S. - I will be updating the mod again soon, but I'm waiting to see what (if any) positive changes are made to combat difficulty with the new patch coming out. I hope they REALLY adjust numbers so my mods will be mostly unneccessary. But I have a feeling it's just going to be "fluff" like torpedoes and stuff, IMHO, we don't need right now. We need balance and polish and they need to prep for release THEN and only then continue adding "content".
« Last Edit: February 02, 2018, 04:13:25 AM by Wayleran »



Ravien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    257
    • View Profile
on: February 02, 2018, 06:37:30 AM
I know they talked about adding specialized ships for the ai like long range, anti shield, anti fighter, etc. Hopefully that helps increase difficulty and fun.



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: February 02, 2018, 12:45:53 PM
But something I realized is that we should just start the game (whether on vanilla or with my mods) on Normal or Veteran then MANUALLY increase the difficulty around midway in the server.ini and then once again MANUALLY increase the difficulty when you reach the core. This way you get noticeable changes both through my mods and the game's difficulty settings.
Is there a way you can integrate the behaviour of the manual difficulty change into your mod? Manually adjusting the server INI every time I jump from "belt to belt" sounds both a little cumbersome and immersion-breaking. Mostly just asking, since you say you've found how to do it manually, whether that's a change that can be made in-code as well.
Shrooblord



Ravien

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    257
    • View Profile
on: February 02, 2018, 08:57:30 PM
I don't know if mods can modify the server config file.



Shrooblord

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Status:
    Offline
    Posts:
    589
    • View Profile
on: February 03, 2018, 12:35:48 AM
Well, no, I didn't mean that.

If you modify the server INI file, surely you aren't writing code like "scale enemy DPS from 100 to 500 from 0 to 500 Sectors from the Core", right? You're writing "difficulty = 1" or "difficulty = 3". That doesn't actually mean anything at all, until it gets interpreted in code.

So what I'm saying is: is there a way to affect the scaling automatically, by emulating how scaling differs between the different difficulty levels, to simulate the effect that Wayleran is getting in his games by editing the difficulty setting manually?

I.e. can we make dynamic difficulty based on location in the galaxy a bit more well-balanced?
Shrooblord